Skip to main content Skip to footer

Rumpke Communications Team Earns Top Honors

Named 2020 Communications Team of the YearRumpke Corporate Communications (Dec. 2019)

CINCINNATI – Nov. 13, 2020 – The Cincinnati Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) honored Rumpke Waste & Recycling’s corporate communications department as Communications Team of the Year Award during its annual Blacksmith Awards on Nov. 12.

The Blacksmith Awards honor the best of the Cincinnati region’s public relations community. The Communications Team of the Year Award recognizes an outstanding communications working group in a company setting. Judging criteria included professional accomplishments in creativity, strategic counsel, team growth and community contributions.

Rumpke also received an Award of Excellence in the Internal Communications Campaign category for its efforts to implement new technology across the business and successfully gain support from employees.

The Rumpke team manages all internal and external communications for the company, including media relations, crisis response, digital marketing, social media, community outreach, neighbor relations, event planning, change management, creative design and education.

“Our communications team makes Rumpke a better company every day,” said Bill Rumpke Jr., president & CEO. “They keep our family of employees informed and engaged, while ensuring positive relationships with the communities we service. Rumpke always strives for transparency through open and honest communications, and this group leads us to that goal.”

Throughout the coronavirus pandemic, Rumpke Director of Communications Amanda Pratt, APR, has co-lead the company’s COVID-19 response team, providing relevant and timely updates to management, employees, customers, government regulators and local officials.

“The waste and recycling industry provides essential services, and our communications team has proven their value during these unusual and unprecedented times,” said Rumpke Jr.

Rumpke previously won Communications Team of the Year in 2010. Cincinnati PRSA has also recognized Bill Rumpke Jr. as 2014 CEO Communicator of the Year, Amanda Pratt as 2011 PR Professional of the Year, and Jonathan Kissell as the 2018 Werner-VonderHaar-Bogart recipient.

About PRSA

The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is the nation’s leading professional organization serving the communications community. With more than 30,000 professional and student members, PRSA is collectively represented across the U.S. by 110 Chapters and on nearly 375 college and university campuses through its student organization, the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA).