Skip to main content Skip to footer

Seymour Student Awarded Rumpke Scholarship

SEYMOUR, Indiana — Aug. 25, 2016 — While maintaining a 4.398 GPA throughout high school, Emma Wood of Seymour High School still found time to help the environment.

Wood was recognized with the 2016 Rumpke Medora Landfill Scholarship. The $1,000 award was presented at Seymour High School in Seymour, Indiana.

In high school, Wood remained extensively involved in many extra-curricular activities and community service projects, including 4-H, National Honor Society, tennis and Latin Club.  

Wood plans to attend Marian University in Indianapolis to study Elementary Education with a focus in ELL and Special Education.

“We are excited to award Emma Wood the annual Rumpke Medora Landfill Scholarship,” said Greg Beamer, regional vice president. “Emma is a hard worker who gives back to the community in many ways.”

The Rumpke Jackson County Scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior at any Jackson County high school pursuing a degree at an accredited institution. Previous recipients include:

  • 2015 – Marley Vehslage of Seymour High School
  • 2014 – Robert Levi Bays lll of Brownstown Central High School
  • 2013 – Kaelan J. Brennan of Seymour High School

This year, Rumpke awarded nearly $20,000 in scholarships to students in its service territory.

Check out up-to-date information on Rumpke scholarships.